Fried Bocconcini with Gremolata Crumbs…The Gourmet Traveller Challenge. April

Yeah, Autumn has arrived!! I love it when a season changes. It’s not so pronounced, so to speak, in Sydney but, never the less, there is a definite chill in the air now.

April brought the Italian issue of Gourmet Traveller. I was kind of holding out this month to put in a bit of effort and crack out some cannoli but alot has been going on and sadly they never eventuated.

The fried bocconcini also took my fancy, all that warm melting cheese surrounded by crisply fried breadcrumbs, it had to be good. Perfect for a drinks party, definitely.

You can get the recipe here from the Gourmet Traveller website.

Tips, Tricks and Trials

OK so this is what I did wrong:

The note at the start of the recipe warns against not putting enough bread crumbs on and the cheese leaking out when fried. Seeing this and the state of my crumbs I knew I was in trouble. I used fresh white sourdough and I couldn’t get the crumbs fine enough. Everyone knows you have to use at least day old bread!

This made the double crumbing too thick for the cheese to melt properly. Still, I think I can retrieve them with a little stint inside a covered tray in a moderate oven.

9 thoughts on “Fried Bocconcini with Gremolata Crumbs…The Gourmet Traveller Challenge. April

Leave a comment