Cardamom and Orange Creamy Rice

orange and cardamom creamy riceMost people know this dessert as rice pudding but in our house it’s called creamy rice, and it was THE favourite dessert of my childhood. It make an appearance most winters and especially when I need some comfort.

There are some recipes I don’t like to mess with and I always thought this was one of them. I was wrong. Thick creamy sweet rice is perfect on its’ own but it can also carry so many other flavours so well.

orange treeI recently had a trip home to my parents house and arrived back laden with lemons, mandarins, and the last of the navel oranges. The oranges have been sitting in front of me waiting for an opportunity to be added into something but gee they’re good just on their own.

I do love cardamom, it’s not for everyone but it’s definitely for me. Now if you don’t fancy cardamom, I think medjool dates would be nice. I would add 2 chopped dates and halve the sugar. In fact dates and cardamom now that would be good too. Ahh now I’m just getting carried away.

Cardamom and Orange Creamy Rice

500ml full fat milk

2 tablepoons rapadura (or brown sugar)

60g medium or short grain rice (I often use carnaroli as it’s to hand)

4 cardamom pods

zest of half an orange 

Use a heavy based saucepan over med heat, add milk and sugar. Stir until sugar is dissolved then add rice and lower the heat to a very gentle simmer. Break the cardamom pods, remove the seeds and ground in a mortar and pestle. Add to the milk saucepan. Keep an eye on it, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes or until it’s thickened up. Stir through the orange zest and serve hot or cold.

It’s pretty sweet, so best served for 2, or 1 person in need of a massive, sweet, comfort hit.

3 thoughts on “Cardamom and Orange Creamy Rice

  1. This sounds perfect for winter, and rapadura is so delicious I often eat it straight out of the jar. lol

Leave a Reply

