Sticky Fruit Flapjacks

Fruit FlapjacksSometimes that saying “life wasn’t meant to be easy” feels like it rings true more often than not. I don’t mean to depress you but it’s true, yes. Those are the times I feel like hibernating in my little flat surrounded by all the beautiful things that comfort and bring me joy. Lounging on the couch watching old movies, reading cookbooks and even polishing the silver could keep me content.

Although it’s probably when I should be getting out and about, not letting things get me down but sometimes I just don’t feel like it. This recipe arose out of one of those days.

Sticky Fruit Flapjacks

100g unsalted butter (sometimes I use half butter half sunflower oil)

100g golden caster sugar

100g honey

100g dried fruit ( I used a mixture of dates, figs, and cranberries)

100g of mixed nuts and seeds ( I used half walnuts and then sunflower, sesame and pepita seeds)

A large handful of shredded coconut

50g ground almonds

200g rolled oats (sometimes I mix in some barley or spelt flakes)

Preheat oven to 150°C. Gently heat the butter, honey and sugar in a small saucepan over a low heat. While this is happening, chop the dried fruit and nuts into small pieces. Place them in a large bowl along with the rest of the dry ingredients. Once the butter, honey and sugar have melted and combined together, pour into dry ingredients and mix together well. Tip into a lined baking tray (approx. 26cmx18cm). Press down into the tray. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the top begins to turn golden brown. Remove and leave to cool completely cooled before cutting. They will be soft and sticky. Keep in an airtight container for up to 4-5 days.

5 thoughts on “Sticky Fruit Flapjacks

  1. That’s a mighty fine looking flapjack : )
    Could have done with one of those about 7PM keep me old noggin ticking as I trawl through 3 weeks of email after being a touch dough, I meant to write duff clearly a freudian slip!
    The rain here BTW has turned to snow!

Leave a Reply

