Cumulus Inc.

It was the day of my birthday, I was in Melbourne and I hadn’t booked anywhere for lunch. You may say that was silly but I had so many options I couldn’t go wrong. All weekend I had wanted lunch seriously early. I seemed to be starving by 1130am and pacing the streets waiting for lunch service to start.

Cumulus Inc. was busy with people still finishing brunch or having a morning cake stop. I hoped I wouldn’t look like a starving earlybird sitting at the marble counter, which overlooks the open kitchen, waiting for lunch service to start. The kitchen area is small and it’s packed with chefs bumping elbows with each other.

One of the first things I liked about Cumulus Inc. was that their menu was a tapas and sharing plate style where most of the sharing plates can be halved. Fantastic news for people who like to try alot of different dishes or for solo diners. The choices just became all that harder or maybe easier because I could have more.

Slow Braised octopus with aioli and dehydrated olives came out first. It was a pretty picture with a touch of chilli and basil. The octopus was soft and the there was a good balance to the dish. No need to take that olive oil back to the kitchen either, I’ll be finishing that off with my bread.

Sitting in front of the kitchen lends itself to some enlightenment. I was sitting in front of the youngster of the team who was continually getting nudged, sworn at and berated by the head chef.  Now I’m guessing that in some kitchens this is the norm and it wasn’t done loudly but enough for me to hear. It made me feel so uncomfortable that at times I didn’t know where to look. I’m soft, I know.

The next dishes took a little more time to come out as the morning crowd were swapping their tables for the lunch crew and the place was continually packed. The menu reads so well it was hard to make a choice but I had to try the tuna tartare with crushed green pea salad. A dish this simple needs the tuna to be perfect and it was. Slicked with olive oil, the tuna melted in my mouth.  

It was recommended I try the spiced cauliflower salad. I didn’t need much convincing. This was my favourite dish, so much so that I tried to search the web to see if the recipe was out there anywhere. I couldn’t find it but I did notice alot of others loved this dish too and have tried to recreate it at home. The pan roasted spice flavours tasted moroccan inspired along with pine nuts, goats curd and a twinkle of pomegranate seeds on top.  This was a half serve, it was so good I could have had more. 

What do you have for dessert when you don’t really feel like it. Not the pearl barley ice cream, soft chocolate, caramel and rye desert. A very rich dessert of smooth chocolate and vanilla with the rye biscuit being a thin slice of toasted rye bread. It gave the dish a bitter taste. It just didn’t do it for me.

Another Melbourne haunt ticked off the list, yes, but it was more than that, it’s another place added to the would go back to list. The two ladies out for lunch beside me were tucking into a slow roast shoulder of lamb that I wanted to pinch. The charcuterie board the father and son were having the other side looked worthy as well. I’ll just sit the other end of the bar next time.

6 thoughts on “Cumulus Inc.

  1. This was also on my hit list over Easter but alas they were shut. Looks like I should make a trip back to Melbourne to give it…and all the other places I missed out on…a try. I love the idea of shared plates, getting to try a little of a few dishes, rather than just one big dish each.

  2. I love your Melbourne posts because you went to the same places I enjoyed on my last visit. Cumulus Inc has great food, and I can’t wait to go back there.

  3. So jealous that you have been there and I haven’t – you are way more up to date on Melbourne’s restaurants than me! A great way to celebrate your birthday.

  4. all the presentation looks amazing! and that tuna, melt in your mouth? i’m droooling on my keyboard as i type this up hehehehehe

    great blog you have here chicka, i’ll slowly get around to reading your older posts im sure :O)

Leave a Reply

