Quintessential DuckeggBLUE

You have to get to this shop. Trust me when I say this. GO.

Quintessential duckeggBLUE owner, Leanne Carter-Taylor, travels to the UK, Europe and the USA repeatedly during the year to source interesting pieces for her shop. She does little to bring them up to their best, maybe a little polish but that is it. No new knobs on old draws, no painting bright colours on sideboard doors (which I detest), just carefully chosen pieces as they are.

This lady definitely has an eye for beautiful, as she calls them, found industrial and antique objects. She really makes an effort to find something different. You step into her shop and your eyes are flooded with beauty, the French oak dining table made from reclaimed carriage wood, the 1920’s French art deco worn leather chairs, the pharmacist cabinet and the steel dentists draws. I want them all!

I don’t think I really need to say much, the pictures speak for themselves.

A few shops along there is also duckeggBLUE the fashion shop. The shops are an extension of the other with the shop fittings for duckeggBLUE coming from quintessential. Beautiful well sourced clothes from Paris, Copenhagen, LA and New York. You will find a mix of comfortable classics and quality everyday wear. Soft jersey t-shirts from Paris and edgy of-the-moment J Brand Houlihans from America.

If you live near Balmain, I’m sure you know the shop well. If you don’t, you had better get in your car and start driving.

497/489 Darling Street, Balmain, NSW. 2041

All photos are under copyright, used here with permission and sent to me by Leanne Carter-Taylor, owner of both duckeggBLUE and quintessential duckeggBLUE



4 thoughts on “Quintessential DuckeggBLUE

  1. I’d spend a fortune in there. I love the tall drawer thing in the first photo and I ADORE the unit in the second photo. I just WANT IT.

  2. Oh, that is just the sort of shop i love to browse around. I particularly like those boxes on the wall behind the blue chairs in your third photo. And what a fantastic life the owner seems to lead. Sigh, I’m envious!

Leave a Reply

