The Sharper your Knife, the Less you Cry….by Kathleen Flinn

Curious title…and one I had to investigate.

The book involves an American working in London who returned from a holiday to find she had been retrenched. A long standing dream to attend the Paris Le Cordon Bleu school was brought to the fore by her new boyfriend. So with nothing to lose, she did it. Packed up her, now defunct, life in London and moved to Paris to start the dream of a lifetime.

As with most books, it takes a little time to get hooked on it, but when I did I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed the escapism it provided and the embellishment of my dream that I might too one day throw in my job to pursue my dream, whatever the cost.

To top it off for the ladies there is a bit of a love story that follows the trail of a long distant relationship in Paris. The title is revealed in a school tutorial when the teacher explains to the class the way to avoid your eyes welling up with tears when cutting onions is to have a very sharp knife so as to avoid bruising the onion. Simple, no other tricks will work.

Essentially it’s a dream book, trying to give the elusion that the Paris Le Cordon Bleu school and trying to learn French very quickly, is really hard work but to be honest it didn’t subdue my enthusiasm to pursue my dream one little bit.

I guess thats why they call it a dream…it is never a reality until is happening to you.

3 thoughts on “The Sharper your Knife, the Less you Cry….by Kathleen Flinn

  1. I just bought this book yesterday at Foyles, after you mentioned it the other day! Looking forward to curling up with it next time I find a free moment from cook school madness 🙂

Leave a Reply

